Billboard Hot 100 Top 40 Review: January 2014

d9600-billboard

Welcome back to the Billboard Hot 100 Top 40 Review, where I’ll be looking at the 40 most popular songs in the United States right now. As of now, the chart hasn’t changed that much with some newer songs making it. So let’s get started right now.

#40. Best Day Of My Life-American Authors: This folksy number has become the latest indie-rock song to reach the Top 40 and it’s not the strongest. It’s not bad, but it’s very generic. It has a catchy hook and some cool production, but the lyrics are very average. Even though this is supposed to be hipster music, it sounds like it wants to be played on Top 40 radio. I digress, though. It’s an okay song, nothing really special. I give it a 3 outta 5.

000/00000

#39.Gas Pedal-Sage The Gemini ft IamSu0/00000

#38. Let It Go-Demi Lovato: This is off of the soundtrack to Disney’s latest blockbuster hit, Frozen (I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I look forward to seeing it), and it’s a great song. Tracks like this showcase Demi’s singing talent very well and the accompanying music fits. There’s actually two versions of this song on the Frozen soundtrack and the other version actually charted on the Top 40 (don’t worry, I’ll get to that one later). What else can I really say about this? I really enjoy this song. I give it a perfect 5 outta 5.

00000/00000

#37. Turn Down For What-DJ Snake & Lil Jon: Lil Jon is back with another banger. His first hit in a long ass time, with some help from DJ Snake. This song is the epitome of a club banger. It’s simple lyrically, but it’s not needed here. The beat is insane, especially when it builds up and then Lil Jon shouts “TURN DOWN FOR WHAT” before the beat drops. How do you NOT want to go crazy? It’s the perfect song for every party/club. And the best part is unlike some so-called “club bangers,” this song’s not obnoxious. There’s no bragging about money, women, drugs, or any material possessions, it’s just a fun song about getting turnt up and Lil Jon is no stranger to that. I’m terrible at dancing, but if this song came on at a club or party, I’ll be dancing my ass off. The song knows its purpose and it executes that purpose perfectly. I give it a 5 outta 5.

00000/00000

#36. Drink A Beer-Luke Bryan: When I saw the title of this song, I though it was just gonna be another party song about drinking, but it’s surprisingly deeper than that. It’s a sad ballad about dealing with the loss of someone close to you. It’s really heartfelt and Luke really delivers that emotion needed for this song to work. I’ve heard some country music fans say that the music that they love is starting to lose its soul to generic pop crap. But with songs like this getting made, they don’t have to worry. This is a really good song that blew away my expectations. I give it a 5 outta 5.

00000/00000

#35. Sail-AWOLNATION00000/00000

#34. Stay-Florida Georgia Line: 0/00000

#33. Holy Grail. Jay Z ft Justin Timberlake: 0000/00000

#32. Adore You-Miley Cyrus: God. Damn it. This song is so boring. Come on, Miley. You’re not even trying. This is a terribly boring ballad and this is actually the first track on her album. You can’t start off an album called Bangerz with coma-inducing bullshit like this. I seriously had to keep myself awake while I was listening to this song. Her singing’s not that good, the songwriting’s a joke, even the beat sounds like it’s bored. It’s like the beat wants the song to quickly end like everyone else did. This gets a 1 outta 5.

0/00000

#31. Show Me-Kid Ink ft Chris Brown: So here we have yet another rap song about sex and it’s everything you’d expect from these type of songs. Lame pick-up lines, corny sexual phrases, the whole 9 yard. It’s Kid Ink and Chris Brown trying to pick up chicks at the club. You know what’s really sad? There’s actually some women who really fall for this ridiculous “spitting game” crap that these two are selling. It tells you a lot about our society if this crap is what women accept. Back to the song, it’s bland, the lyrics suck, Kid Ink sounds like a drunk Chris Brown trying to rap, and the beat sounds like every other track that DJ Mustard produces. This gets a 1 outta 5.

0/00000

#30. Brave-Sara Bareilles: 000/00000

#29. Unconditionally-Katy Perry: 0/00000

#28. Safe And Sound-Capital Cities: 00000/00000

#27. Let It Go-Idina Menzel: Here’s the other version of Let It Go, which is also on the Frozen soundtrack. While the Demi Lovato version was definitely a radio single, this version sounds more like something made for a movie. This is a pretty good version, even though I personally enjoy the other one better. Idina definitely did a good job on this song. I give it a 4 outta 5.

0000/00000

#26. Applause-Lady Gaga0/00000

#25. My Nigga-YG ft Jeezy & Rich Homie Quan: 0/00000

#24. Radioactive-Imagine Dragons: 00000/00000

#23. Stay The Night-Zedd ft Hayley Williams: 0000/00000

#22. 23-Mike WiLL Made It ft Miley Cyrus, Wiz Khalifa, & Juicy J: 0/00000

#21. White Walls-Macklemore & Ryan Lewis ft ScHoolboy Q & Hollis: 0000/00000

#20. Sweater Weather-The Neighbourhood: 00000/00000

#19. Blurred Lines-Robin Thicke ft T.I. & Pharrell0000/00000

#18. Pompeii-Bastille: 000/00000

#17. Do What U Want-Lady Gaga ft R Kelly: 0/00000

#16. Hold On, We’re Going Home-Drake ft Majid Jordan: 0/00000

#15. Drunk In Love-Beyonce ft Jay Z: Beyonce really dropped a bombshell on everyone last month. The same time I published the second part of my Year End Album Reviews, Beyonce released her fifth studio album on iTunes with no press, no promo, nobody saw this coming. So how is this particular song? It’s cool. The beat’s dope and Beyonce herself sounded good. I’m not too crazy about this song as I feel like this isn’t her strongest at all. Also, Jay Z’s verse was meh; you can tell he’s not even trying. Overall, the song’s okay. I give it a 3 outta 5.

000/00000

#14. Team-Lorde: Looks like Lorde won’t be a one-hit wonder after all. Good thing because she’s a talent who deserves recognition. Just like every song on her album, Team is a great track. Well-written, great beat, and a message behind it. Songs like this need to be known. I give it a 5 outta 5.

00000/00000

#13. Burn-Ellie Goulding: 00000/00000

#12. Story Of My Life-One Direction: 0/00000

#11. Roar-Katy Perry: 0/00000

#10. Demons-Imagine Dragons: 00000/00000

#9. Wrecking Ball-Miley Cyrus: 0/00000

#8. Wake Me Up-Avicii: 00000/00000

#7. Let Her Go-Passenger: 000/00000

#6. Dark Horse-Katy Perry ft Juicy J: 0/00000

#5. Say Something-A Great Big World & Christina Aguilera: 0000/00000

#4. Royals-Lorde: 00000/00000

#3. The Monster-Eminem ft Rihanna: 000/00000

#2. Counting Stars-OneRepublic: (second thought) Remember when I said that this was a bland, boring song two months ago? Ever since then, this song has started to grow on me. I still don’t think it’s a great song, but it’s not as bad as I thought it was. This song is catchy and has more energy than I thought it did. Ryan Tedder and the rest of OneRepublic did a good job with this. I was sleeping on this song heavy. If it came on the radio, I wouldn’t mind. Hell, I’m actually hoping for this song to go all the way to number one and knock that Pitbull crap out of there. So, yeah. This is the first time there’s been a second thought on a song here. Will there ever be another one in the future? I don’t know, maybe. I give this a 4 outta 5.

0000/00000

#1. Timber-Pitbull ft Ke$ha: 0/00000

So those were the Top 40 songs of the Billboard Hot 100 as of January 11, 2014. I’ll be doing another Top 40 Review next month. Stay tuned.

Peace!!

One response to “Billboard Hot 100 Top 40 Review: January 2014

  1. Pingback: The Rhythm of the Royals | Lorde | tempo breakdown: bpm diagrams, web links, YouTube video | The Meanspeed® Post

Leave a Reply

